About the Award


The Americas Award is an initiative of CIFAL Atlanta and the United Nations Institute for Training and Research (UNITAR) to honor remarkable persons doing significant work in the Americas, particularly those who have successfully implemented programs and best practices towards the promotion of socio-economic development and the achievement of the eight United Nations Millenium Development Goals (MDGs).


  1. Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
  2. Achieve universal primary education
  3. Promote gender equality and empower women
  4. Reduce child mortality
  5. Improve maternal health
  6. Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases
  7. Ensure environmental sustainability
  8. Promote a global partnership for development
  9. Lifetime Achievement

The Ceremony

The Americas Award Ceremony is usually held within the framework of the Americas Competitiveness forum. More than 1,000 leaders from the 34 nations in the Americas, including Heads of State, cabinet members, business executives, trade delegates, academics, and representatives from the region’s public and private competitiveness councils, non-governmental and international organizations attend the ceremonies.